Bold, bald and battling breast cancer

shaved head 2011

That was me in 2011, the day that I shaved my head after my first chemo and my hair had started falling out.  I was actually at a restaurant, having a bite to eat on the outside patio.  Initially, I was wearing a hat  – the wig I had bought in preparation for this day was way too hot to wear in South Florida in July – and I was feeling extremely self-conscious with my newly naked noggin.  But, the South Florida heat got to me, and I sheepishly took off my hat, thinking everyone would turn my way at once with a collective gasp of horror. Guess what?  No one did. Not one person.  It actually felt good – I felt a little breeze and I also felt a little empowered – like, screw you cancer – I’m not letting you embarrass me.  So, I ditched the wig for good and either wore hats throughout my treatment, or went “commando”.  I felt a little like Demi Moore in G.I. Jane – a warrior battling for her life against a vicious enemy. That attitude, of fighting for my life, helped save my life.  So, to all my lovely ladies who are losing their locks or have already, know that you are beautiful and brave.  Wear a wig if it makes you feel good or don’t.  Wear a beautiful scarf or a funky hat.  Or, just go commando.  Whatever you choose, do it to make yourself feel good, and don’t worry so much about how others are seeing you.  In my experience, when people saw my bald head, they actually were drawn to me and offered words of encouragement and support, and that felt good.   You will get through this, and your hair will grow back.  Mine did :

birthday beach

Be Bold, y’all!

Leave a Reply

WordCamp Tampa 2016

September 10-11, 2016

Undiagnosed Warrior

Be brave, little fighter. There's a warrior within you.

the little wolf hunter

Living with lupus, hunting for answers

This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

courage grace and humor

surviving and thriving after cancer

abravenewweek

One woman and her positive way to tackle chronic pain

(Not) Another Lupus Blog

A lupus blog featuring cats, glitter, and other important things.

4utu

It's Your Life. Drive!

Lupieliving

living with lupus, day by day, moment by moment

Seta Health

Empowering you to live your healthiest life

jerry-mahoney.com

Author, ranter, dad

The DailyJunior Blog

On Dogs, People and Mental Health: Stories of Connection

Life Despite Lupus

Change is not a dirty word/ Motivation for lupus warriors

hopenotfearblog

choose HOPE not FEAR !... My journey through my battle with breast cancer.

Excel Exposure

Free Online Excel Training!

Sick and Sick of It

But Still Living The Life

MindSync

True Life Revealed From Every Angle

Tammy Carmona

Living Life With Metastatic Breast Cancer

