The Power of Positive Drinking (post #4 in my 30 in 30 challenge)

healthy drinks

I apologize to any of you who were expecting a post on the virtues of drinking alcohol – although, that might be a topic to consider in another post.  No, my friends, in this post I’m referring to mixing fruits and vegetables, not a gin and tonic (which, after a long day at the office, actually sounds pretty good right now).  A little while back, I wrote a post on smoothies.  I really noticed a difference when I started to make and drink them on a daily basis.  I got myself a good blender and started experimenting with all sorts of combinations.  I got into the habit of bringing my concoctions to work and drinking them in the morning, then filling up my empty cup with water to drink throughout the rest of the day.  I felt energized and healthy.  Then, life got kind of hectic and I had to go out of town a few times unexpectedly, and I got out of the smoothie groove.  I have noticed the difference.  I also noticed that when I got out of my smoothie routine, I also got out of my drinking water routine (per the Mayo Clinic, the Institute of Medicine states an adequate intake for men is roughly about 13 cups (3 liters) of total beverages a day. For women, that number is about 9 cups (2.2 liters) of total beverages a day.  I haven’t been anywhere close to that lately!).  Then, things snowballed and I got out of my exercise routine, as well.  All this from skipping my smoothies?!  I remember that when I was in my “taking good care of myself” mode, I wanted more and more healthy things and activities in my life – the positive power was flowing and multiplying.  But, the opposite happened when I got out of that routine.  So, I have fired up the blender once again and have started making my little frozen concoctions once more.  I still have to get back to the gym and back to the water fountain, but it’s a start.  Cheers, everyone!

Leave a Reply

WordCamp Tampa 2016

September 10-11, 2016

Undiagnosed Warrior

Be brave, little fighter. There's a warrior within you.

the little wolf hunter

Living with lupus, hunting for answers

This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

courage grace and humor

surviving and thriving after cancer

abravenewweek

One woman and her positive way to tackle chronic pain

(Not) Another Lupus Blog

A lupus blog featuring cats, glitter, and other important things.

4utu

It's Your Life. Drive!

Lupieliving

living with lupus, day by day, moment by moment

Seta Health

Empowering you to live your healthiest life

jerry-mahoney.com

Author, ranter, dad

The DailyJunior Blog

On Dogs, People and Mental Health: Stories of Connection

Life Despite Lupus

Change is not a dirty word/ Motivation for lupus warriors

hopenotfearblog

choose HOPE not FEAR !... My journey through my battle with breast cancer.

Excel Exposure

Free Online Excel Training!

Sick and Sick of It

But Still Living The Life

MindSync

True Life Revealed From Every Angle

Tammy Carmona

Living Life With Metastatic Breast Cancer

