Smooth(ie) Sailing

smoothie

My immune system hates me – and sometimes the feeling is mutual.  But, I’m trying very hard to repair my relationship with my body and be sensitive to its needs.  I have Lupus, which is a chronic inflammatory disease that occurs when your body’s immune system attacks your own tissues and organs.  Yes, I am at war with myself.  I have been fighting this war for a very long time and will be for the rest of my life.  After trying various medication regimens, I think my doctor and I have finally come up with a good combination to slow the disease process and battle the chronic pain and fatigue (not to mention the attractive butterfly rash on my cheeks).  But, I don’t want to depend entirely on medication, especially since side effects can include a suppressed immune system – which leaves me more susceptible to infections (in Lupus, your immune system actually is working overtime and must be slowed down).  So, I’m trying to focus on things that I can do to help myself.  I stay super protected when I’m outdoors – no easy task, since I live in South Florida – because for some crazy reason, sunlight can trigger a flare up.  I try to rest as much as I can – no easy task, with two small kids – because I get tired very easily.  I see my rheumatologist every 4-6 weeks to check on my lab work and adjust my meds, if needed.  I’m also trying to get back to the gym and eat healthier.  My latest weapon in my ongoing battle are daily smoothies. I love veggies, so that was never a problem with including them in my diet, but fruit was always an issue.  I’m not sure why, but I just never was a big fruit eater, even though I knew how good it was for me.  Now, every morning I make myself a yummy smoothie with a variety of fruits, spinach, coconut water, chia/flax seeds, and maca root.  I feel good that I’m doing something healthy for myself and actually notice an improvement in my energy level.  I do have to be careful and avoid certain things that are normally good for other people though, like Echinacea (which can speed up my already overactive immune system and lead to a flare), or even garlic (which can also overstimulate my pesky immune system).  So, even though I may never totally win the war with my body, I’m hoping to at least call a truce for a while and live to fight another day.

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cc
    Feb 23, 2015 @ 16:36:16

    I got into smoothies slipping spinach into them for my kids then later for the Daniel Fast at our church. I love how healthy you feel throwing so much into them! This is the second time I’ve come across about garlic which makes me wonder because it’s a staple in my house! So crazy because I used to be one of those people that could handle the sun and loved it because the heat it put on my achy body and now we live somewhere that actually gets cold and my lupus goes crazy on me! Take care and keep being an inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

WordCamp Tampa 2016

September 10-11, 2016

Undiagnosed Warrior

Be brave, little fighter. There's a warrior within you.

the little wolf hunter

Living with lupus, hunting for answers

This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

courage grace and humor

surviving and thriving after cancer

abravenewweek

One woman and her positive way to tackle chronic pain

(Not) Another Lupus Blog

A lupus blog featuring cats, glitter, and other important things.

4utu

It's Your Life. Drive!

Lupieliving

living with lupus, day by day, moment by moment

Seta Health

Empowering you to live your healthiest life

jerry-mahoney.com

Author, ranter, dad

The DailyJunior Blog

On Dogs, People and Mental Health: Stories of Connection

Life Despite Lupus

Change is not a dirty word/ Motivation for lupus warriors

hopenotfearblog

choose HOPE not FEAR !... My journey through my battle with breast cancer.

Excel Exposure

Free Online Excel Training!

Sick and Sick of It

But Still Living The Life

MindSync

True Life Revealed From Every Angle

Tammy Carmona

Living Life With Metastatic Breast Cancer

