What’s harder – being the patient or the caregiver?

My 5 year old daughter is sick today – fever and a tummy ache.  As a mother, I just want to hold her and make her feel all better. I can only imagine how difficult it must have been for my mother when I was diagnosed with cancer and going through my treatments.  I couldn’t let myself imagine that at the time, because I needed to focus on myself and getting better.  Now, I’m realizing that it must have been just as hard, if not harder, for her – and everyone else who cared about me – than it was for me.  I know that when my partner was going through treatment for thyroid cancer, which included three surgeries and being quarantined in the hospital for radioactive iodine treatment, it was hell.  I was worried about her and her physical and emotional well-being, and worried about our kids, and determined to put on a brave face so none of them knew how terrrified I really was.  It was draining and difficult.  I think, for me at least, it’s easier being the patient.  Even though my own health was at risk and it was a nightmare to go through, it was easier than watching someone I love suffer and having no control over the outcome.  So, today I’m saying a prayer to thank God for all of my wonderful caregivers and all the caregivers in the world – and a special prayer that my daughters will never have to suffer with anything more serious than a fever and a tummy ache.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Valarie Kinney
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 16:16:29

    I recently lost my sister to cancer. In her last days, our mother was a flurry of fixing her favorite foods (though she couldn’t eat much), and spoon feeding her 49-year-old baby girl and kissing her head and fixing her blankets.
    And I thought, “My God, mothering is the most awful thing in the world.”
    And I thought, “My God, mothering is the most wonderful thing in the world.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

WordCamp Tampa 2016

September 10-11, 2016

Undiagnosed Warrior

Be brave, little fighter. There's a warrior within you.

the little wolf hunter

Living with lupus, hunting for answers

This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

courage grace and humor

surviving and thriving after cancer

abravenewweek

One woman and her positive way to tackle chronic pain

(Not) Another Lupus Blog

A lupus blog featuring cats, glitter, and other important things.

4utu

It's Your Life. Drive!

Lupieliving

living with lupus, day by day, moment by moment

Seta Health

Empowering you to live your healthiest life

jerry-mahoney.com

Author, ranter, dad

The DailyJunior Blog

On Dogs, People and Mental Health: Stories of Connection

Life Despite Lupus

Change is not a dirty word/ Motivation for lupus warriors

hopenotfearblog

choose HOPE not FEAR !... My journey through my battle with breast cancer.

Excel Exposure

Free Online Excel Training!

Sick and Sick of It

But Still Living The Life

MindSync

True Life Revealed From Every Angle

Tammy Carmona

Living Life With Metastatic Breast Cancer

