JOURNAL ENTRY: WED, JULY 6TH, 2011

 

It took me awhile to start writing, which is odd because I used to write so much when I was younger and didn’t feel well.  I think I was just in shock at first, then in survival mode after that.  I’m sitting at the beach now – it’s cloudy and breezy – just stopped raining a little.  Feels good being here and to be writing again.  At first I thought I should be writing down deep thoughts and insights from all the time I’ve had to reflect on things since I’ve been dealing with this breast cancer thing, for lack of a better word.  So, I didn’t write anything.  But, I guess I just wasn’t ready – and, honestly, I haven’t done much reflecting.  I think I was so scared in the beginning, then so relieved when I found out it was curable, then so wiped out from all the tests, doctor’s appointments, surgeries and chemo, that I haven’t been spending much time “soul searching.” What I have realized is I am a strong woman with a strong partner and family.  I learned a long time ago how important attitude and perception are in dealing with physical pain and illness. Shaving my head didn’t really bother me – it was kind of freeing, and I don’t mind the way I look bald. I know in my heart I will be ok – I felt that deep inside when I was first diagnosed in April.  Things could always be worse, and, like my Dad used to say, “every day above ground is a good day.” How very true, Dad

Leave a Reply

WordCamp Tampa 2016

September 10-11, 2016

Undiagnosed Warrior

Be brave, little fighter. There's a warrior within you.

the little wolf hunter

Living with lupus, hunting for answers

This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

courage grace and humor

surviving and thriving after cancer

abravenewweek

One woman and her positive way to tackle chronic pain

(Not) Another Lupus Blog

A lupus blog featuring cats, glitter, and other important things.

4utu

It's Your Life. Drive!

Lupieliving

living with lupus, day by day, moment by moment

Seta Health

Empowering you to live your healthiest life

jerry-mahoney.com

Author, ranter, dad

Life Despite Lupus

Change is not a dirty word/ Motivation for lupus warriors

hopenotfearblog

choose HOPE not FEAR !... My journey through my battle with breast cancer.

Excel Exposure

Free Online Excel Training!

Sick and Sick of It

But Still Living The Life

MindSync

True Life Revealed From Every Angle

Tammy Carmona

Living Life With Metastatic Breast Cancer

Loopie Life

Living a life with Lupus

